Tech South West has launched a new awards ceremony to celebrate and showcase the best of the region’s technology sector.

The Tech South West Awards 2019 cover the whole Tech South West region of Bath, Bristol, Cornwall and the Isles of Scilly, Devon, Dorset, Gloucestershire, Somerset and Wiltshire, recognising and celebrating talent, creativity, business success, education, leadership, diversity and more across the whole technology sector.

The event will comprise 23 award categories covering South West’s fastest growing sector, honouring the profusion of innovative businesses, individuals and organisations making up the region’s thriving technology scene. Categories range from Best Startup, International Success and Tech Entrepreneur of the Year, to Sustainable Tech, Tech Education Initiative and Research Award.

To celebrate local successes from across the region, we are running in partnership with local tech cluster awards, Digital Northern Devon, Digital Plymouth, Digital Taunton, Software Cornwall, Tech Exeter and TechSPARK. These area-specific accolades will reward companies, organisations, programmes and initiatives which have delivered a positive difference to the industry and seek to encourage and celebrate tech in their local communities and beyond.

Toby Parkins, chair of Tech South West and founder of Cornwall-based software firm HeadForwards, said: “These awards will recognise the many successes across the South West’s technology scene, highlighting the incredible array of companies, initiatives and individuals helping drive innovation, collaboration, economic growth, jobs and future talent.

“The South West is a growing hub for digital and tech, and these awards will support our objective to showcase the region as an emerging, world-leading hub for technology and innovation.”

Nick Sturge, Director of Bristol’s enterprise and engagement hub Engine Shed, and one of the judges for this year’s Tech South West Awards, said: “The technology sector across the South West is bigger and stronger than ever and the awards are a fantastic opportunity to celebrate groundbreaking successes, creative talents and remarkable developments.”

Representatives from Software Cornwall, TechSPARK, Digital Plymouth, Tech Exeter, Digital Taunton, Northern Devon Digital, BT, Cornwall College Group, Cosmic, HeadForwards, Maistro, Oneserve and Astley Media are on the judging panel.

The awards opened for entries on Wednesday May 8 at with the deadline 5pm Friday 21 June 2019. Judging takes place towards the end of June, with the shortlists announced in July, ahead of the awards ceremony in October.

Geraint Evans